17 new Covid-19 clusters reported

PETALING JAYA: The health ministry has detected 17 new Covid-19 clusters in the past 24 hours, health director-general Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said at a press conference today.

This brings the cumulative cluster count to 2,001, with 535 active clusters.

In a statement, Ismail said seven each were workplace and community clusters, two involved religious gatherings while another was from a high-risk group.

They were detected in Selangor, Penang, Johor, Kelantan, Melaka, Labuan, Kuala Lumpur, Pahang, Negeri Sembilan and Sabah.


  • Taman Sungai Jelok: a high-risk group cluster involving a care centre for the aged. It involves Hulu Langat. 25 screened, 18 tested positive.
  • Jalan Cemerlang Empat: a workplace cluster linked to a restaurant. It involves Hulu Langat. 100 screened, 16 tested positive.

Kuala Lumpur

  • Lembah Keramat: a cluster linked to religious activity. It involves Titiwangsa. 25 screened, 10 tested positive.


  • Industri Nibong Tebal: a workplace cluster linked to a factory. It involves Seberang Perai Selatan and Barat Daya. 91 screened, 31 tested positive.

Negeri Sembilan

  • Jalan Pantai Port Dickson: a workplace cluster linked to a service company. It involves Port Dickson. 104 screened, 30 tested positive.

Melaka & Johor

  • Taman Kesang Indah: a community cluster. It involves Jasin, Melaka and Muar, Johor. 55 screened, 26 tested positive.


  • Industri Batu Berendam: a workplace cluster linked to a factory. It involves Melaka Tengah and Alor Gajah. 131 screened, 13 tested positive.


  • Jalan Laman Setia Tujuh: a workplace cluster linked to a factory. It involves Johor Bahru. 150 screened, 11 tested positive.
  • Redong Satu: a community cluster. It involves Segamat. 40 screened, 20 tested positive.


  • Indani: a community cluster. It involves Semporna. 96 screened, 12 tested positive.
  • Abaka: a community cluster. It involves Tawau. 171 screened, 38 tested positive.

Sabah & Labuan

  • Melikai: a community cluster. It involves Kuala Penyu, Sabah and Labuan. 251 screened, 17 tested positive.


  • Kepulauan Tumpat: a community cluster. It involves Tumpat and Pasir Mas. 597 screened, 28 tested positive.
  • Kampung Bakong Kecil: a community cluster. It involves Pasir Mas. 21 screened, 15 tested positive.


  • Sungai Batu: a workplace cluster linked to a mining company. It involves Raub. 76 screened, 27 tested positive.
  • Jalan Bypass Kuantan: a workplace cluster linked to employees of a transportation centre. It involves Kuantan. 268 screened, 16 tested positive.
  • Kampung Gau: a cluster linked to religious activity. It involves Temerloh. 432 screened, 16 tested positive.

Source: https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2021/05/22/17-new-covid-19-clusters-reported/

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.