Covid-19: Seven new clusters detected, four linked to community outbreaks

PUTRAJAYA: The Health Ministry has identified seven new Covid-19 clusters, taking the number of active ones up to 340.

Four of the new clusters have been categorised as community outbreaks, two are linked to the education sector while one is related to a workplace.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said the community cluster of Sungai Rian in Sarawak has 48 positive cases so far.

“This cluster was discovered from a targeted screening exercise conducted on the community of Sungai Rian in Bintangor since April 12.

“Out of 119 individuals who were screened, 48 have turned out to be Covid-19 positive, ” said Dr Noor Hisham.

Another community outbreak, named the Taman Dato Senu cluster, is linked to a social event held on April 10 in Sentul.

“So far, 55 individuals have been screened and 12 cases have been confirmed under the cluster, ” said Dr Noor Hisham.

The Jalan Padang Lallang cluster in Penang is linked to an outbreak at a school in Bukit Mertajam.

Dr Noor Hisham said nine positive cases have been confirmed to date, after 39 students were screened.

The index case tested positive on April 17 after developing symptoms.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.