Covid-19: Five New Clusters Identified, Bringing Total Number Nationwide to 428

PUTRAJAYA: The Health Ministry has uncovered five new Covid-19 clusters, bringing the number of active clusters nationwide to 428.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said the Jalan Kampung Hilir cluster and Nanga Bulo cluster in Sarawak and the Banggol Chicha cluster in Kelantan are categorised as community outbreaks.

He added that the Jalan Sanyan cluster in Sarawak and Jalan Taiping cluster in Kuala Lumpur are classified as workplace clusters.

Dr Noor Hisham said the Jalan Sanyan outbreak is linked to workers at a supermarket in Sibu.

“The index case tested positive for Covid-19 on March 4 and a total of 19 individuals had to undergo screening. As of March 16, all 19 who were screened tested positive, ” said Dr Noor Hisham.

The Jalan Taiping cluster is linked to workers at a public administration centre in Kuala Lumpur.

“The index case of this cluster displayed symptoms before testing positive for Covid-19 on March 10. So far, 137 individuals have been tested and eight positive cases have been found under this cluster, ” he said.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.