Covid-19: Tertiary Students from Red Zones Not Allowed Back on Campus

PETALING JAYA: Higher education students residing in Covid-19 red zones are not allowed back on campus to register for the new semester.

Higher Education Minister Datuk Dr Noraini Ahmad (pic) said in a statement on Sunday (Sept 27) that these students – both new and current – will be required to register online.

“All higher education institutions are requested to postpone face-to-face registration of new and old students from red zone areas at their respective campuses, which is scheduled to start this October, ” she said.

She added that these students can return to their campuses following standard operating procedures (SOPs) once the Covid-19 situation at their hometowns has recovered. To date, there are five red zones in Malaysia – Kota Setar, Lahad Datu, Kunak, Semporna and Tawau.

Students who are not residing in red zones can return to their campuses as normal following their institution’s academic calendar.

“The ministry reiterates that all higher education institutions have been instructed to carry out all academic activities on campus in full compliance with the prescribed SOPs and prioritise safety measures,” she said.

In July, Noraini said higher education institutions can reopen fully in October and they would be given the flexibility to determine the most suitable modes – including online learning – for their respective programmes.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.